Vintage-Books-CAL logo

Deadline for CAL Writing Award Submissions is January 31st!

Posted on December 1, 2014 | in Awards and Scholarships | by

CAL Writing AwardSubmissions are now being accepted for the 2015 Colorado Authors’ League Writing Awards in 13 categories—including E-books—with the deadline Jan. 31, 2015. The submission form can be found here. To be eligible, writers must be CAL members and have published their work either traditionally or independently in 2014. In addition to awards of $100 and the prized engraved-glass CAL trophy for all winners, all winners and finalists in the contest will be invited to participate in a CAL signing/reading event at one of the Tattered Cover stores soon after the Awards Banquet.This is an exclusive agreement between CAL and Tattered Cover. Details will be forthcoming. Winners in each category will be announced at the annual Awards Banquet on Friday, May 8, 2015. The banquet will return to the Skyline Room of the Courtyard by Marriott in Denver Cherry Creek, where last year more than 140 authors, guests and publishing luminaries attended the event.

The cost for each entry is $50. Winning an annual CAL writing prize can be a transformative moment for an author, a validation of their hard work, or a special reward.

“It was a thrill to win the 2014 award from the Colorado Authors’ League for my picture book, The First Rainbow, a re-telling of a Native American myth,” says Phyllis J. Perry. “ … It has encouraged me to set to work on another legend.”

“It was greatly rewarding and gratifying that Not to be Forgiven was chosen CAL’s Best Mainstream Novel in 2014 for the recognition by one’s peers and the vital publicity that winners receive,” says Nancy Peterson.

Fiction and non-fiction E-books are being added as categories for the first time. The 11 other categories are: Mainstream Fiction, Genre Fiction, Young Adult, Children’s, Short Fiction, General Non-fiction, Creative Non-fiction, Feature Articles, Essays, Poetry and Blogs.

In addition, winners and finalists will receive promotion on the CAL web site and newly designed CAL gold (winner) and silver (finalist) book stickers.

To join Colorado Authors’ League, fill out the application and either use PayPal or mail a check for the $50 fee to cover dues through the end of May, 2015. If you have any questions about the awards, please contact Awards Chair Peg Brantley at or at 303-693-2207.

To pay by PayPal, click below:

Leave a Reply



If you have news about upcoming events, award programs, resources, or other information relevant to the writing community that you'd like us to share, please send the information by email to the CAL Website Administrator.

Click here for tips on sending in your news!