CAL Memorial Scholarship

Beginning in 2002-03, the Colorado Authors’ League, the state’s premier organization of professional, independent writers, began offering a $1,000 scholarship to an aspiring Colorado writer.

The Colorado Authors’ League created the annual scholarship as part of its commitment to encourage, support and nurture Colorado writers.

The Colorado Authors’ League Memorial Scholarship is open to applicants who:

• are legal Colorado residents;
• are enrolled full-time (12-hours minimum) in an accredited public or private Colorado institution of higher education, which includes a university, four-year college, community or junior college, or career/technical college;
• have successfully completed at least 12 hours of undergraduate study;
• have a minimum GPA of 2.5 or better;
• demonstrate financial need.

Additionally, applicants must write an essay of up to 1,000 words on the topic: “How Writing will Benefit My Profession.” Essays will be judged for excellence of writing, creativity and grammar.

Applications must be received by April 1, 2018, and the winning recipient will be announced May 1st. The winner will be invited to attend the CAL Writing Awards Banquet, which is held the first Friday in May, to accept the scholarship. The 2018 dinner will be at the Arvada Center.

Click HERE for the CAL Memorial Scholarship Application.

Questions about the CAL Memorial Scholarship should be directed to Joy Lawrence.

Incorporated on January 14, 1932 to foster the art and craft of authorship, the Colorado Authors’ League (CAL) is the state’s premier organization of professional, independent writers united to further members’ success. It is the oldest writers organization in Colorado and among the oldest in the western United States. Today, CAL includes more than 230 specialists, whose work embraces every branch of fiction and non-fiction writing.

The CAL Memorial Scholarship honors, as a group, CAL members who have passed away. To make a contribution in an amount of your choosing, please click here (you will have the option of noting in whose memory your donation is being made):